26
May
09

Study: Photos stay online after you delete them

Researchers tested several photo-sharing sites to see if photos still existed on the Internet 30 days after they were supposedly deleted by users. Seven of the 16 sites, including Facebook, failed the test.

Facebook and other sites store photos in one place and their main Web page in another place. That makes it difficult to know where your photos actually live. And it apparently means there can be some major lag time between when you delete a photo and when it actually goes away.

To read more about the study, click here: Full Study

A dismal 5 of the 16 sites failed to revoke photos after 30 days, including MySpace, Facebook and Bebo.

To view the study results, click here: Study Results

Advertisements

0 Responses to “Study: Photos stay online after you delete them”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Twitter Button from twitbuttons.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Categories


%d bloggers like this: